NICE Community Schools



About Us

The NICE Community School District is a rural district nestled in the rolling hardwood-covered hills immediately west of the city of Ishpeming in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. The district is comprised of the Aspen Ridge School (pre K-8th), Westwood High School (9-12th), the Westwood Early College and the Patriot Academy (online).

The district is representative of four districts that consolidated in the late 1960's and early 1970's. Today, the NICE Community School District spans more than 680 square miles. The acronym NICE stands for:

N - National Mine
I - Ishpeming Township
C - Champion - Humboldt - Spurr Townships
E - Ely Township

Since its opening in 1974, Westwood High School has offered students a solid curriculum in a safe environment. The Aspen Ridge School opened its doors in 1997, and is a ''state-of'the-art'' facility that operates as two independent schools: Aspen Ridge Elementary School and Aspen Ridge Middle School.

Rep/Contact Info

Bryan DeAugustine